Tags

, , ,

I have made a breakthrough! My brother who never, NEVER tries anything I make because he thinks its “too healthy” ate these chips and declared them almost as good as the real thing. Success is mine! Mwhahaha! 😀 Now, I have never been a chip person, so I don’t actually know what real sour cream and onion chips taste like.  However, between me and my brother we devoured these chips!  I seriously suggest making these if you have a picky eater on your hands, like I do!

Easy Sour Cream and Onion Kale Chips

Image

makes 4-5 cups

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup cashews (soaked for 3 hours)
  • 3 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar (maybe another type of vinegar would work….)
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 head of kale
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup water

Directions:

  1. Strip the kale from its stem and shred into “chip” sized pieces.
  2. In a blender combine cashews, lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, and water, until creamy and smooth. (Should be the consistency of thick salad dressing.)
  3. Chop red onion.
  4. In a large bowl, combine kale, cashew sauce, and onion until thoroughly combined.
  5. Dehydrate in a dehydrator (I have heard people using their ovens, but I haven’t tried that and can’t vouch for your results) at 105 degrees for 12-15 hours.

I hope you all try this recipe and I would love to hear it this works in the oven or not! 🙂

Question of the day: Do you have or know a picky eater who refuses to eat healthy?

